Forgive the Rant ~

I’m a little tired of the hate ~

I’ve been quiet for a long time. Primarily because it’s hard to write when you’re shaking your head at the unthinkable—the unbelievable.

I feel a bit of a rant coming on, so I ask that you indulge me while I purge.

The inflammatory remarks by presidential hopefuls about women, gays, Muslims, immigrants—both legal and illegal—and our current president are peppered with so much hate and misinformation that I can’t decide if I find it shocking, embarrassing or just plain scary.

Let’s start with women, shall we? Donald Trump is a buffoon with an unkempt squirrel atop his head, yet his misogynistic remarks toward his female opposition, commentators and anyone lacking the ability to pee standing up, continue.  While I’m not a fan of Carly Fiorina and do my best to avoid anything on Fox News, his remarks about these women were ridiculous and uncalled for.

Build a wall—really? What happened to the country we were so proud to be? What happened to the sentiments inscribed on the Statue of Liberty:

Give me your tired, your poor,
Your huddled masses, yearning to breathe free,
The wretched refuse of your teeming shore,
Send these, the homeless, tempest-tost to me,
I lift my lamp beside the golden door. ~ Emma Lazarus

What happened to our ability to embrace those whose situation is so desperate that they will risk life and limb to begin again in the land of the free? Each and every one of us is the result of an immigrant braving the journey to this great country.  If we are going to adopt the thinking of those against lawful and obtainable immigration, then surely we must take down the inscription and return the statue to its rightful owners who speak a foreign language and therefore aren’t welcome here.

Kim Davis – if you don’t believe in the rights of gays to marry, don’t marry a woman. I would not choose to marry a redneck and yet I respect your right to spend the rest of your life with one. Stop (illegally) shoving your personal beliefs down the throats of people who just want to spend their lives with the person they love the most. If you can’t do your job, then do the right thing and step away. In doing so you will relieve yourself of the task of issuing legal marriage licenses to same sex couples and you will relieve us of the hate and intolerance you spread.

Muslims are people. Like Christians, Catholics, Protestants, Lutheran and every other religion known to man, there are the good and the bad. ISIS is not a reflection of Islam in the least. They are insane radicals with no regard for life, liberty, history or religion. For Ben Carson to suggest that a person’s faith should determine whether they should become president or not takes racism to a whole new level. It seems we have taken so many steps backward.

The “All lives matter” movement isn’t just based on the color of skin, it is our responsibility to respect one another on so many levels—ethnicity, race, religion, gender and sexual preference to name just a few.

About Writestuff

Look around. There's a story every five feet. They tug at me to give them a home on a page...and that's what I do. Tanya Besmehn is a freelance writer and agented screenwriter living with her husband, daughter and loyal lab on the shores of Dana Point, California -- sometimes dreams do come true.
This entry was posted in antihate, islam, PresidentObama, tolerance and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Forgive the Rant ~

  1. Mom says:

    Dearest Tanya:
    I am so proud and happy to be your mother and thank you so much for expressing yourself so eloquently. Love you lots and send many hugs.
    love,
    Mom

  2. Rita says:

    Dearest Tanya’s Mom,

    I’d like to repeat your comments and edit “friend” for “mother”. Thank you for bringing Tanya into our world. With all of her goodness, brightness and yes, eloquence, she is sunshine amidst the crazy-mixed-up-world we live in. One of the nicest things ever said to me was, “Id’ like to meet your parents.” and so, it would be lovely to meet you some day!

    P.S. Tanya Dearling, not a thing to be asked forgiveness for. Once again, you are so on target. Thank you, for being you.

    Love,
    Rita

    • Writestuff says:

      Thank you dearest Rita! I’m so happy you’re settled. I got your email and will answer just as soon as I can, in the middle of a script today and feeling terribly distracted. xoxoxo Love you!

  3. vinnievan says:

    OMG!!!! I burst out laughing standing here in the grocery store and looked around for someone, anyone, to share that Kim Davis paragraph with! That was genius!

    You are so funny, so wise, so completely humane. I’m beyond proud to call you friend. Love your guts!!
    V+

  4. Maureen says:

    You couldn’t ‘rant’ if you tried. Rant means to ramble. You don’t. What comes from your fingertips is from your kind, mindful heart. We all like to read what you have to say..because we all want to be in the same room with you.

Leave a comment